Community Services Board

The Hanover County Community Services Board, an administrative policy body, is comprised of county residents appointed to set policies for the provision of mental health, developmental and substance use disorder services.

Among other duties, the HCCSB reviews and evaluates services and facilities, ensures compliance with the annual performance contract, approves a schedule of fees and advocates on behalf of county residents.

Board Meetings
5:30 p.m.
3rd Monday of every month (except January & February: 4th Monday)
Meeting locations can vary, but typically meetings are held at:
12300 Washington Highway, Ashland, VA 23005

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings; the meeting packet for each meeting includes the draft minutes from the prior meeting.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Public Comment

Public comments allow an opportunity for residents of Hanover County and other interested parties to present comments and information to the Board regarding any matter within the scope of the Board’s authority.  Any person who desires to speak will be asked to provide his/her name, magisterial district or locality of residence, and the matter to be addressed. The Board may respond at the conclusion of the public comment period to comments or questions raised. Information that is readily available in response to such comments may be provided at this time.  In addition, the Board may direct that the staff prepare a report or take other action in response to the comments received.


  • Anne Cross, Chair -                                  Henry District                                              Phone: 804-746-2377                              Email
  • Margaret Perkinson, Vice-Chair - Chickahominy District                                Phone: 804-366-5739                              Email
  • Melissa Young, Secretary -                      Member-at-Large                                          Phone: 804-366-3816                                  Email
  • Angela Kelly-Wiecek -                            Board of Supervisors Member                    Phone: 804-550-5655                                Email
  • Jean Edwards - Cold Harbor District     Phone: 804-779-2610                              Email
  • Ryan Hudson - Mechanicsville District Phone: 804-307-2882                                  Email
  • Jeffrey A. Katz - Beaverdam District        Phone: (804) 601-0199                              Email
  • Carol McDaid - Member-at-Large          Phone: 202-669-1991                                  Email
  • Gary D. Perkins - South Anna District          Phone: 804-513-1228                                  Email
  • Sue Randolph - Member-at-Large                Phone: 804-363-5706                                Email
  • Robin Trivette - Member-at-Large                Phone: 804-244-6796                                  Email
  • Linda Wilkinson - Ashland District                Phone: 804-389-0538                                  Email


The purpose of this Board shall be to act as the agent of Hanover County, Virginia, a political subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia, in the establishment and operation of community mental health, developmental disabilities and substance use disorder services, as provided for in Subtitle II, Chapter 5 of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia (1950), as amended, relating to the Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, hereinafter referred to as the “Department”. Additionally, the purpose of this Board shall be to provide a core of program services to include emergency and case management services (subject to the availability of funding), and other appropriate services necessary to provide individualized supports to persons with mental illness, developmental disabilities and/or substance use disorders.


The County of Hanover has established the Board and authorized it to administer County mental health, developmental disabilities and substance use disorder services pursuant to a resolution approved by the County Board of Supervisors on August 26, 1998, and in accordance with the provisions of 37.2-501 of the Code of Virginia. The County Board of Supervisors has designated the Board as an Administrative Policy Board, as defined in 37.2-100 of the Code of Virginia.  The powers, duties and responsibilities of the Board shall be those of an Administrative Policy Board set forth in the Code of Virginia.




The Board shall be composed of 12 members, who shall be appointed by the Board of Supervisors in accordance with state law. The Board shall include one member from each of the seven magisterial districts of the County, one member from the Board of Supervisors and four at-large members. The membership of the Board shall be broadly representative of the community.  One-third of the Board shall be consumers or family members of consumers, at least one of whom shall be a consumer receiving services, as defined in 37.2-100 of the Code of Virginia.

Terms of Service

The term of each member of the Board shall be for three years from January first of the year appointed. Any vacancies on the Board shall be filled for the balance of an unexpired term.

Further Information

Compensation: $50 per month; $600 annually